Sephora/Ulta Haul

So, I had a little extra jangle in my pocket and decided I would try and find the Anastasia Beverly Hills (ABH) glow kits in Gleam and that glow.  However, my Ulta and Sephora did not have them in yet.  I then looked for the self-made palette from ABH and Tartelette 2 in bloom palette and both were sold out.  I am all about instant gratification so instead of ordering them I bought a couple of items that I have been wanting from the ridiculous wish list excel spreadsheet I created.  I ended up getting a couple of drug store items at Ulta (all of which happen to be from Nyx.)

Items from ulta:

Nyx color correcting concealer

Nyx soft matte lip creams in  Addis Ababa and Abu Dhabi

Nyx extreme shine eyeliners in Jewel, Golden Bronze, Esmeralda, and Golden Olive

From sephora I only got one item the Kat Von D Shade and Light Eye Contour palette.  I was kind of on the fence about getting this palette because I previously bought the Kat Von D Innerstellar palette.  I didn’t swatch and the colors seemed great on the back of the box.  When I opened it everything was cool toned and none of the colors really suited me on their own.  However, the palette is very good quality.  I did swatch these colors and they are buttery and have some beautiful earth tones I feel like I can wear this everyday on its own or pair it with some of my other palettes for more dramatic looks.  Also, when I did the swatches I only did one layer and a lot of the lighter colors did not show up as well.  There was also a good amount of product fall out.  I will be trying a look, but my initial first impressions are so-so.

At this point I havent actually used any of the products besides the nyx color correcting concealer.  I tested it out today and had pretty good results.  I was looking for a bright orange concealer to cover up my blue eye circles (man these things just popped out of no wear), but the lady at Ulta said that the bright orange works better with darker skin tones and unless I am going heavy heavy coverage a light or medium peach or salmon tone would suffice with normal everyday makeup.  It did correct my under eyes, but I am still working with the formula to get it to stay all day.  I have also previously purchased the Nyx extreme shine eyeliners and I really like the formulation for tightlining.  Also, when I swatched everything I was able to wash it all off with a baby wipe; however I had to use make up remover to take off the eyeliners!  My husband has a beautiful olive skin tone so I also used him for swatching the Shades and light Kat Von D palette or as he likes to call them “splotches”

I will add in some swatches of the products and hopefully have a look up this weekend.

Love,

LaGlamMere

3 thoughts on “Sephora/Ulta Haul

    1. Thank you dolledupbyj!! My husband is such a great sport he paints my right hand for me and lets me practice polka dots on his toes. I hope he will continue to let me swatch him because he has an olive complexion and I am very white! Thank you for your comment : )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

